A Welfare Trust For Persons With Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Mental Retardation and Multiple Disabilities

What is the National Trust?

The Government of India has established a Trust to govern the management of a one time grant of Rs 100 crore meant for the long term care and support of persons with these four impairments: autism, cerebral palsy, mental retardation and multiple disabilities. The proceeds of the grant can be used for the following purposes:

  1. to enable and empower persons with disability to live as independently and as fully as possible within and as close to the community to which they belong
  2. to strengthen facilities to provide support to persons with disability to live within their own families
  3. to extend support to registered organisations to provide need based services during period of crisis in the family of persons with disability
  4. to deal with problems of persons with disability who do not have family support
  5. to promote measures for the care and protection of persons with disability in the event of death of their parents or guardians
  6. to evolve procedure for the appointment of guardians and trustees for persons with disability requiring such protection;
  7. to facilitate the realisation of equal opportunities, protection of rights and full participation of persons with disability


What does the Trust do?

  1. The Trust supports the establishment of Local Level Committees at the District level which make decisions with regard to guardianship of persons with disabilities above the age of 18 for management of their day to day activities and management of their properties where required. The Local Level Committee comprises three members – one being a person with disability – and is headed by the District Collector
  2. The Trust also promotes schemes and helps create services in line with the objectives of the Trust. This includes programmes to promote independent living, training of family members, setting up self help groups, promoting day care centres, respite care centres, and also looking at residential hostels and group homes

How can you appoint a guardian for your child through the Trust?

An application for guardianship can be made to the Local Level Committee (in the district where a person with disability lives) by a parent or relative of a person with disability seeking to appoint a person of their choice as guardian.
The Local level Committee is to determine whether the person with disability requires a guardian, and if so, for what purposes the guardianship is required, and the obligations in each particular case. The purposes of guardianship may include maintenance and residential care, management of immovable property and management of movable property.
Once appointed, the guardian has to provide an inventory of the property and assets of the person with disability (where available), and thereafter file accounts every year on the utilization of the same.
In case the Committee finds that the guardian is not executing their obligations or are treating the person with disability with cruelty, they can seek replacement. It is important to note, however, that appointment of a guardian for a person with the above mentioned impairments is no way necessary.

What special schemes does The National Trust run?
The National Trust provides direct financial support to persons with disabilities who are covered under the Act through the following schemes:

  1. Niramaya – Insurance scheme for persons with disabilities
  2. Gyan Prabha – Scheme to provide additional costs of inclusive education for graduation courses, professional courses and vocational training
  3. Prerna – Scheme to provide support to marketing for enterprises run by organizations of persons with disabilities
  4. Sambhav – Scheme for showcasing and subsidizing assistive devices for persons with disabilities.

Besides the above, the National Trust formulates several schemes and programmes, many of which are implemented through partners in the NGO sector. These include schemes like

  1. Disha, the Early Intervention and School readiness scheme
  2. Vikaas – the day care and vocational training for persons with disabilities
  3. Gharaunda – Independent living/group home schemes
  4. Sahyogi – Training programme for personal assistance
  5. Samarth – Respite care

The website gives details of these schemes and the organizations through which these can be availed. The Trust also accepts moveable property bequests from individuals to be utilized for the benefit of their next of kin. Also, after making adequate arrangements for the person with disability, remaining funds can be utilized for the objectives of the Trust in general.

How can my organization avail of the National Trust Funds?

First, register your organization with the National Trust. Registration is open to any association of persons with disabilities, any association of parents of persons with disabilities or voluntary organisations whose main object is promotion of welfare of persons with disabilities. Once registration is complete, and the organization undertakes to enact a programme on the lines of the objectives of the Trust, they can apply for funding along the lines of formulated schemes of the Trust.

How can you address a grievance?

Please give details of your grievance with supporting documents to ala@thenationaltrust.in or contact at 011-43187804. You can also send your queries to:

Assistant Legal Advisor
The National Trust
16B, Bada Bazar, Old Rajinder Nagar,
New Delhi-110060